This was the findings of a research done by PewResearchCentercompleted this month. Pew also found that “the main reason they don’t go online is because they don’t think the internet is relevant to them.” and “Currently, 88% of American adults have a cell phone, 57% have a laptop, 19% own an e-book reader, and 19% have a tablet computer“.

We often get amazed by the abundance of information the internet supplies us. Everything from LoL Kittens to how  you build your own open-source tractor and other farming machinery. We share, tweet and blog so everyone can follow or stay updated. We think everyone has access, but are we wrong in doing so? I rarely ponder on if anyone does or doesn’t have access. To me, the phrase: “let me send you an e-mail” has become as normal as “I will call you“.

Denmark has even committed itself to digitizing the public sector and make paper obsolete by default. Signing documents through digital signature has become normal. The other day I learned you can apply for loans electronically in the morning and receive the funds on you account the same day. I was told this works for car loans as well as mortgages. You just collect all needed documentation and submit it through online banking. The same day you will receive a contract that needs you digital signature. When signed the funds will be on your account within the hour. Amazing, but also a little scary.

It raises so many questions, about that 1/5 of the population with no interest. Will they be a lost generation in slow demise? I know the size of this group may be smaller in Denmark, but I believe this to be true with my grandparents and to some extend my own parents and their surroundings. However if you are below 40 I feel this problem is not relevant anymore. But if you are below 40 and without internet connection I would probably not reach you anyway, right?

