So far Paris has proven to be everything that I expected. The many people cramped together on this little space, makes them giddy. However I was very puzzled and left wondering when I was told by my university to be patient! Patience is not something that I find a lot when I walk around the street, plenty of people explodes (mostly through verbal abuse) before anyone gets to explain anything.

Nevertheless our (150 odd International students) university have consistently told us to remain calm and wait. Now this is fine with me, Paris has a lot to offer. Though they perhaps should not have invited us 3-4 weeks before our semester actually was planned to begin or planned at all… Further throwing us a course with the focus on showing us all the sights (Versailles, Louvre, etc.) of Paris leaves us only with going out. Now socializing (also known as partying, chatting or hanging out) is a very keen art to me, though it proves to be rather expensive in Paris (Coffee 1 Euro, Beer 5 Euro, Meal 15-20 Euro). On my student budget I am quite limited.

So you either start getting creative or stay at home. The later which even gives you some sort of value for money since I am paying 25 Euros per Sqm! Though this is considered a good or decend deal in Paris. However I only got 28 squares of those, which I am sharing and not allowed to share with others (at least not on a permanent basis). So all in all patience gets a virtue that should become your habit.

Lucky me that other people formulated it better below:

From “Random House Dictionary of Popular Proverbs and Sayings” by Gregory Y. Titelman (Random House, New York, 1996): “Patience is a virtue. The ability to wait for something without excessive frustration is a valuable character trait. The proverb has been traced back to ‘Piers Plowman’ (1377) by William Langland and is similar to the Latin, Maxima enim..patientia virtus (Patience is the greatest virtue) and the French, Patience est une grant vertu. (Patience is a great value.) Some ten years after Langland, Chaucer wrote in ‘The Canterbury Tales’ (1386) that ‘Patience is a high virtue.’ Sometimes followed by the wry rejoinder ‘but virtue can hurt you.’ First cited in the United States in 1724 in the ‘Works of Thomas Chalkley’ (1766)…”

I also find that a good book is a virtue, as is conquering the Caribbean Seas in Port Royal or exterminating Zerglings in Starcraft.

